[Review] U.K.: Night After Night (1979)

Prog’s last hurrah, sort of, this live performance features Wetton’s voice still in great shape.

Kronomyth 3.0: Addenda.

As quickly as it started, it was over, and another supergroup was superseded by individual interests. Night After Night was mixed and released after the band’s final performances in Japan, during the summer of 1979. Included here are two new tracks performed live, “Night After Night” and “As Long As You Want Me Here,” which show a lack of creative chemistry was not UK’s undoing. Perhaps the wonder is that UK lasted at all after the loss of Bruford and Holdsworth, except that Eddie Jobson and Wetton always were the heart of the group.

On this performance, Jobson’s keyboards (and occasional violin) are outstanding, filling in the space so well that he nearly does the work of two musicians (“Alaska” is particularly impressive). John Wetton’s voice is in fine form, delivering the new tracks and “old” favorites like “Rendezvous 6:02” with the right amounts of drama and nuance. Terry Bozzio does a good job on drums, with plenty of double-stroke rolls tripping smoothly over the tom-toms just as they did in Zappa’s employ.

The new material, the clean recording and the lack of anything else from the band conspire to make Night After Night that rare essential live recording. Some listeners have even anointed this their best effort; perhaps overenthusiastic praise, but cheeky product this is not. Given the often redundant nature of live recordings, this one is remarkably relevant.

Original elpee version

A1. Night After Night (5:21)
A2. Rendezvous 6:02 (5:17)
A3. Nothing To Lose (5:25)
A4. As Long As You Want Me Here (5:00)
B1. Alaska (Eddie Jobson) (4:21)
B2. Time To Kill (Eddie Jobson/John Wetton/Bill Bruford) (4:17)
B3. Presto Vivace (Eddie Jobson) (1:12)
B4. In The Dead of Night (6:22)
B5. Caesar’s Palace Blues (4:58)

Songs written by Eddie Jobson/John Wetton unless noted.

CD reissue bonus track
10. When Will You Realize?

The Players

Terry Bozzio (drums and percussion), Eddie Jobson (keyboards & electric violin), John Wetton (lead voice and bass guitar). Produced by Eddie Jobson and John Wetton; engineered by Michael Braunstein.

The Pictures

Cover by Alwyn Clayden and John Wetton. Photography by Max Takahashi, John Shaw, Neil Zlozower, Ebet Roberts.

The Plastic

Released on elpee in September 1979* in the UK (Polydor, POLD 5026), the US and Canada (Polydor, PD-1-6234), Japan (Polydor, MPF-1265) and the Netherlands (Polydor, 2302 096). Japanese version features gatefold cover and poster. (*First appeared in 9/22/79 issue of Billboard.)

  1. Re-issued on elpee, cassette and compact disc on June 30, 1990 in the US (EG Collector’s Edition, EGLP/EGLPC/EGCD 42).
  2. Re-released on super high material compact disc in 2009 in Japan (Bell Antique, BELLE 091542).
  3. Re-released on expanded super audio compact disc on September 24, 2014 in Japan (Virgin, UIGY-9572).
  4. Re-issued on SHMCD in 2014 in Japan (Virgin, UICY-76579).
  5. Re-issued on expanded SHMCD on April 27, 2016 in Japan (Virgin, UICY-25548) with one bonus track.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *