AC/DC: Who Made Who (1986)

Kronomyth 12.0: TRUCK & ROLL. Who Made Who served as the soundtrack to the Stephen King film Maximum Overdrive, mixing three new tracks (two of them instrumentals) with popular selections from their catalog. Little mention is made of the movie itself (a small blurb on the back cover tells us this is “the official soundtrack from the Stephen King film Maximum Overdrive”), as Atlantic was likely content to let consumers perceive this as the next release from AC/DC. (The movie, to paraphrase the immortal Homer J., was the “suckiest bunch of trucks that ever sucked.”) The three new tracks were recorded in the same studio as Back In Black with producers Harry Vanda and George Young; the instrumentals are a cut above your usual soundtrack music, and “Who Made Who” rocks. Who Made Who was as close as AC/DC had come to releasing a greatest hits record, and some fans took it as such, gorging on the band’s greatness. I’ve read elsewhere that Stephen King picked these songs himself (to be taken with the usual grain of salt), and notes that the version of “For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)” was remixed for this movie (I can’t corroborate since I don’t have the original). Just something to chew on, since the first theory would explain the inclusion of “Ride On,” the second why “For Those About To Rock” sounds so crisp and calculated to my ears. In all honesty, Who Made Who doesn’t function any better as a catch-all of hits than Back In Black. The inclusion of “Sink The Pink” and “Shake Your Foundations” from Fly On The Wall is self-serving, the two new instrumentals largely unnecessary, and the packaging stingy (as most soundtracks are). But compared to the lackluster movie, it’s clear who the real kings are.

Original LP Version
A1. Who Made Who (3:26)
A2. You Shook Me All Night Long (3:30)
A3. D.T. (Malcolm Young/Angus Young) (2:55)
A4. Sink The Pink (4:11)
A5. Ride On (Malcolm Young/Angus Young/Bon Scott) (5:48)
B1. Hells Bells (5:11)
B2. Shake Your Foundations (4:50 – more like 3:50)
B3. Chase The Ace (Malcolm Young/Angus Young) (2:59)
B4. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You) (5:43)

All songs written by Malcom Young, Angus Young and Brian Johnson unless noted.

The Players
Brian Johnson (vocals), Cliff Williams (bass guitar), Simon Wright (drums), Angus Young (lead guitar), Malcolm Young (rhythm guitar).

Did You Know?

  • Stephen King is a fan of AC/DC, The Ramones and Rolling Stones… but not Led Zeppelin. Go figure.
  • Maximum Overdrive was nominated for two Golden Raspberry awards, for worst director (Stephen King) and worst actor (Emilio Estevez). His royal fruitiness, Prince, would go on to win both honors for Under The Cherry Moon.
  • AC/DC also recorded several instrumental “tracks” for the film that didn’t appear on the album, including a piece called “Humans Here.”

The Plastic
Released on elpee and cassette on May 24, 1986 in Australia (Albert, APLP.431068), the US (Atlantic, 81650-1-E/4-81650), the UK (Atlantic, WX-57), Argentina (Atlantic, 89100), Canada (Atlantic, 78 16501/4), Germany (Atlantic, 781.650), Japan (Atlantic, P-13269), Korea (High Light, J-182) and Mexico (Atlantic, LWA-8501); reached #33 on the US charts (RIAA certified 5X platinum record) and #11 on the UK charts. Re-released on CD in Australia (Albert, 338602) and in 2001 in Japan (Atlantic, AMCY-6230). Re-released on digitally remastered 180g vinyl elpee and CD on April 29, 2003 in the US (Epic, E-/80211) and on April 30, 2003 in the UK (Sony, 510769-1/2). Re-released on CD in 2008 in Japan (Sony, SICP-1713).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *